Tuesday, May 7th, 2002


University of Pittsburgh quarterback Dan Marino , Texas offensive tackle Jerry Sisemore and Ohio State coach Earle Bruce were among 13 players and two coaches selected for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame on Tuesday.
Marino quarterbacked the Panthers from 1979-82, including a trip to the 1983 Cotton Bowl Classic. Pittsburgh fell to the SMU Mustangs 7-3.
Sisemore anchored the Longhorn offensive line from the 1970-72 seasons. He helped lead Texas to three Cotton Bowl trips from 1971-1973.
Bruce accumulated a 154-90-2 record from 1972-92 as head coach at Tampa, Iowa State, Ohio State, Northern Iowa and Colorado State. He coached the Buckeyes to a 28-12 victory over Texas A&M in the 1987 Cotton Bowl.
The other players honored were Southern California safety Ronnie Lott, Missouri tight end Kellen Winslow, defensive tackle Reggie White of Tennessee, tailback Napoleon McCallum of Navy, wide receiver John Jefferson of Arizona State, offensive guard Reggie McKenzie of Michigan, split end Terry Beasley of Auburn, tailback Sonny Franck of Minnesota, running back Cosmo Iacavazzi of Princeton, defensive back Randy Rhino of Georgia Tech and linebacker Gary Spani of Kansas State.
Also honored was Carmen Cozza, who coached from 1965-96 at Yale and was 179-119-5.
The new members, announced at National Football Foundation headquarters, will be added to the Hall in South Bend, Ind., following the awards dinner, Dec. 10 in New York City.