Heisman Winners in the Classic After Receiving Their Award

1948 Doak Walker
Doak Walker
The 1999 Cotton Bowl Classic marked the 50th anniversary of Walker’s Heisman Trophy season and final appearance in the Classic. Walker ran for a touchdown, booted a 79-yard punt and was named Classic MVP for the second consecutive year while leading his SMU Mustangs to a 21-13 victory over Oregon. January 1, 1999 would have been The Doaker’s 72nd birthday.
1963 Roger Staubach
Roger Staubach
The Navy quarterback completed a then-record 21 of 31 pass attempts for 228 yards in the 1964 Classic, but his second-ranked Midshipmen lost the National Championship battle to No. 1 Texas, 28-6.
1977 Earl Campbell
Earl Campbell
The Texas great rushed for 116 yards in the 1978 Classic, but his top-ranked Longhorns lost to eventual national-champion Notre Dame 38-10.
1984 Doug Flutie
Doug Flutie
The Boston College quarterback led his Eagles to a 45-28 victory over Southwest Conference Champion Houston in the 1985 Classic, which remains the highest-scoring Cotton Bowl ever played.
1985 Bo Jackson
Auburn’s versatile athlete rushed for 129 yards, caught a 73-yard touchdown pass and was named one of the Cotton Bowl’s MVPs despite his team’s 36-16 loss to Jackie Sherrill’s Texas A&M Aggies in the 1986 Classic.
1987 Tim Brown
Tim Brown
The Dallas native and All-America receiver caught six passes for 105 yards in a losing effort, as Texas A&M defeated Notre Dame 35-10 in the 1988 Classic.
1999 Ricky Williams
All eyes turned toward Dallas for Ricky’s career finale against Mississippi State in the 1999 Cotton Bowl. Powered by Williams’ 203 rushing yards, Texas cruised to a 38-11 decision and its first New Year’s Day bowl victory in 17 years.





2013 Johnny Manziel

     Johnny "Football" Manziel stole the show against Oklahoma in the 2013 Classic.  Amassing 287 passing yards and  229 rushing yards, he led the Aggies to a 41-13 victory.


Players in the Classic Who Later Won the Heisman

1938 Davey O’Brien
The TCU quarterback backed up legendary quarterback Sammy Baugh in the first Cotton Bowl Classic in 1937. O’Brien threw for 33 yards as the Horned Frogs defeated Marquette 16-6. O’Brien won the Heisman Trophy in 1938.
1961 Ernie Davis
The Syracuse running back rushed for a touchdown, caught an 87-yard touchdown reception (the longest in Classic history) and intercepted a pass to set up another score as the Orangemen captured the National Championship with a 23-14 victory over Texas. The MVP performance by Davis in the 1960 Classic preceded his Heisman Trophy season of 1961.
1973 John Cappelletti
The Penn State standout running back participated in the Nittany Lions’ 30-6 thrashing of Texas in the 1972 Classic. Cappelletti won the Heisman in 1973.
1992 Gino Torretta
The Miami quarterback played backup to game MVP Craig Erickson in the 1991 Classic. The Hurricanes defeated Texas 46-3 in the largest victory margin in Classic history. Torretta captured the Heisman Trophy in 1992.